top of page

What is Key Stage Five?

Key Stage Five (KS5) is the final stage of education in the United Kingdom, which is typically undertaken by students aged 16 to 18 years old. This stage is also known as post-16 education and includes the following:

Sixth Form

Some schools have a sixth form, which provides education for students in Years 12 and 13. Students in sixth form study for qualifications such as A-levels, BTECs, and vocational qualifications.

Further Education (FE) Colleges

Students can also attend FE colleges to study vocational courses, apprenticeships, and A-levels.

Higher Education (HE)

This includes universities and other institutions of higher education, where students can study for undergraduate degrees, postgraduate degrees, and other higher-level qualifications.

During Key Stage Five, students are expected to develop a range of academic and vocational skills to help them progress to further study or employment. The qualifications obtained during this stage can have a significant impact on a student's future education and career prospects.

Are you in Key Stage Five and need extra support with your learning? Contact Prepped on 01284 658777 or email


bottom of page