top of page

What is taught at Key Stage Two?

Key Stage Two (KS2) is the second stage of primary education in England and Wales, covering children aged 7 to 11 years old.

At this stage, the National Curriculum of England and Wales specifies the following subjects and areas of learning:


In Key Stage Two, children are taught to read, write, spell, and speak fluently and accurately. They are introduced to a wide range of literary genres and learn to analyse and evaluate texts.


Pupils are taught to develop their mathematical skills and knowledge in number, geometry, measurement, and statistics.


Pupils learn to develop scientific skills and knowledge in the fields of biology, chemistry, and physics.


Children are taught to use technology safely, responsibly, and creatively. They learn to code and understand algorithms.

Design and Technology

In Key Stage Two, pupils learn to design, make, and evaluate products using a range of materials and technologies.


Children are taught to develop an awareness of the past and the key events and people that have shaped history.


Children learn about the world's physical and human features, its climate and environment, and develop their map-reading skills.

Art and Design

Pupils learn to develop their creativity and imagination through a range of art and design techniques.


Children learn to develop their musical skills and knowledge through singing, playing instruments, and composing.

Physical Education

Pupils develop their physical skills, knowledge, and understanding through a range of sports and physical activities.

Religious Education

Pupils learn about different religions and their beliefs and values.

In addition to these subjects, schools may also choose to teach other areas of learning, such as modern foreign languages or personal, social, health, and economic education (PSHEE).

Is your child in Key Stage Two and requires additional help with their learning? Contact Prepped on 01284 658777 or email


bottom of page